Où nous travaillons

L’organisation participe actuellement à plus de 40 initiatives de dialogue et de médiation, publiques ou confidentielles, dans plus de 20 pays.

Displaying 0 activity Displaying 0 activities

COVID-19 Global Response Initiative

The initiative outlines four main HD goals, pursued in collaboration with global health experts: Deliver life-saving information to hard-to-reach populations; Work with communities to monitor the outbreak, to strengthen the global response; Facilitate humanitarian access to these hard-to-reach populations; Promote humanitarian pauses in areas of active armed conflict, to give space for an effective response […]

Read case study

Aceh, Indonésie

Activités L’objectif poursuivi par HD à Aceh était de contribuer, par le biais de la médiation, à une résolution durable du conflit entre le gouvernement indonésien et le Mouvement pour un Aceh libre. Le 9 décembre 2002, à Genève, HD a facilité la signature d’un Accord de cessation des hostilités entre les deux parties. Dans les mois qui […]

Read case study

Burundi

Activités Pour ce faire, HD a organisé un séminaire du 2 au 4 février 2000 à Genève, réunissant des commandants de terrain des groupes armés d’opposition actifs au Burundi, des membres du gouvernement burundais ainsi que des représentants de la communauté humanitaire internationale. Intitulée « Sécurité, accès et principes humanitaires au Burundi », la rencontre visait à : offrir […]

Read case study

République centrafricaine – 2007/2008

Historique La République centrafricaine (RCA) est un État fragile dont les infrastructures sont à la peine et où les services de base sont quasi inexistants en dehors de la capitale. La situation humanitaire s’est dégradée avec le déclenchement de rébellions armées et les activités de plusieurs bandes criminelles dans le nord du pays, qui ont […]

Read case study

Dialogue entre organisations de jeunesse et institutions du Sahel

Historique Présentation générale Voix des jeunes du Sahel Les quelques 50 millions de jeunes de moins de 30 ans qui résident dans les pays du G5 Sahel représentent aujourd’hui presque 65% de la population totale de ces pays. Les perspectives d’avenir de cette jeunesse sont limitées: faible niveau d’éducation en raison d’un système scolaire engorgé par l’explosion démographique ; liberté […]

Read case study

L’Initiative de Genève

Historique Le lancement officiel de l’Initiative a eu lieu le 1er décembre 2003 à Genève, en présence de nombreuses personnalités, lors d’une cérémonie organisée par le DFAE. Le DFAE, qui avait apporté un soutien logistique et financier aux négociations autour de l’Initiative, a sollicité l’aide de HD pour assurer la promotion de cette dernière. L’organisation a ainsi travaillé en collaboration étroite […]

Read case study

Indonesia – Building mediation capacity of interfaith institutions

The project initially focused on the city of Ambon in Maluku, where religion-related communal conflict cost the lives of more than 2’000 people between 1999 and 2002 and injured at least 4’000 others. Lingering suspicion and segregation between Muslims and Christians still poses a threat to security today. HD and THC seek to bring formal and informal […]

Read case study

Irak

Historique Alors que la défaite militaire de l’État islamique (EI) est quasi totale en Irak, le pays est en proie à une crise politique étroitement liée à sa situation sécuritaire. Si la province d’Al‑Anbar, la ceinture de Bagdad et Salah ad-Din, majoritairement sunnites, sont désormais libérées de l’EI, une résurgence de violence entre les communautés […]

Read case study

Libye

Le 15 février 2011, d'importantes manifestations réclamant le départ de Mouammar Kadhafi ont éclaté en Libye, gagnant rapidement tout le pays. Le mouvement de contestation s'est déroulé pacifiquement jusqu'au 17 février, date à laquelle les forces fidèles au pouvoir ont ouvert le feu sur les manifestants, tuant des centaines de personnes et provoquant la démission de plusieurs membres du gouvernement […]

Read case study

Médiation dans la région des trois frontières – Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger

Contexte Plusieurs groupes armés circulent le long de la bande frontalière poreuse qui sépare le Mali, le Niger et le Burkina Faso. Apparus au début des années 2010, ces groupes revendiquent, selon les cas, des liens avec les groupes armés signataires de l’Accord pour la paix et la réconciliation au Mali ou des djihadistes, ou […]

Read case study

Médiation du redéploiement de l’Etat dans les régions de Mopti et Ségou, Mali

Contexte Alors que l’Accord pour la paix et la réconciliation au Mali de juin 2015 mettait un terme officiel au conflit Nord-Sud, une multitude de conflits éclataient dans le centre du pays. Avec la dégradation de la situation sécuritaire dans les régions de Mopti et de Ségou, l’administration publique malienne a progressivement déserté une grande […]

Read case study

Moldavie

Contexte En septembre 1990, au plus fort de la crise géopolitique régionale provoquée par la chute de l’Union soviétique, la région orientale de la Moldavie — connue sous le nom de Transnistrie — a déclaré sa séparation de fait de la Moldavie. Elle se trouve depuis lors en dehors du contrôle du gouvernement central moldave. Une […]

Read case study

Suivi et évaluation de la médiation

Suivi et évaluation Afin de pouvoir mesurer efficacement l’impact des efforts de médiation, HD a développé un modèle de suivi et d’évaluation adaptatif. Ce dernier fournit un cadre d’évaluation susceptible d’être adapté à des situations hautement incertaines et complexes et permet ainsi à l’organisation de démontrer de façon plus efficace la valeur et la portée […]

Read case study

Myanmar – Résoudre la crise dans l’État de Rakhine

Contexte  L’engagement de HD dans la résolution du conflit dans l’État du Rakhine remonte à 2012 et la flambée de violences communautaires qui a touché la région à l’époque. L’organisation travaille depuis lors à la résolution de la crise et à la gestion de son impact sur la région. Prenant en compte les dimensions multiples […]

Read case study

Nigeria

Fort de son expérience dans la Vallée du Rift du Kenya, où il a soutenu avec succès le processus de paix de Nakuru de 2012 à 2013, HD a commencé à travailler dans la région au début de l’année 2013. Son objectif était de trouver une réponse aux conflits endémiques qui affectaient la région et de faciliter la […]

Read case study

Philippines, Mindanao

Le 27 mars 2014, le gouvernement philippin et le FLIM ont signé l’Accord global sur le Bangsamoro, aboutissement des efforts et des pourparlers entrepris par les deux parties depuis 1997. Cet accord de paix est lui-même fondé sur un texte précédent, l’Accord-cadre sur le Bangsamoro, conclu par les mêmes parties en octobre 2012, et ses quatre annexes. Depuis 2009, HD […]

Read case study

Médiation intercommunautaire à Diffa – Niger

Contexte Le conflit qui oppose Boko Haram aux Etats du Niger, du Nigeria, du Tchad et du Cameroun a entrainé l’évacuation des îles du Lac Tchad et des terres fertiles de la Komadougou au Niger, soit le déplacement de 250’000 personnes dans la région de Diffa. Il en est résulté une concentration croissante d’habitants dans […]

Read case study

Mer de Chine méridionale

Historique L’intervention de HD en mer de Chine méridionale est née du souhait des parties de mettre rapidement en place un cadre parallèle permettant de réduire les violences armées en mer, tandis que les discussions sur la résolution du conflit se poursuivaient au sein de la sphère officielle. En 2014, un incident lié à une plateforme […]

Read case study

Soutien au processus de paix au Myanmar

Contexte Les travaux préparatoires du processus de paix entre le gouvernement du Myanmar et les 21 groupes armés ethniques du pays ont débuté en 2011, dans le cadre d’un programme plus vaste de réformes dirigé par l’ancien gouvernement du Président Thein Sein, et devant mener à une transition démocratique du pays. Suite à la victoire […]

Read case study

Gambie

Historique Après avoir pris le pouvoir par la force en renversant le président Dawda Jawara en juillet 1994, Yahya Jammeh a dirigé la Gambie jusqu’en janvier 2017. Une crise a éclaté en 2016, lorsque Jammeh est revenu sur sa décision initiale d’accepter le résultat de l’élection présidentielle du 1er décembre 2016, dont la victoire avait été attribuée par la […]

Read case study

Ukraine

Historique Depuis 2014, le conflit armé qui déchire la région de Donbass, en Ukraine, a causé la mort d’environ 10 000 personnes et le déplacement de centaines de milliers d’autres. Durant l’été 2014, les combats se sont intensifiés jusqu’à ce que les parties parviennent au septembre à un accord de cessez-le-feu à Minsk, sous les auspices de l’Organisation […]

Read case study

Kenya

Contexte Lorsque, le 27 décembre 2007, le président Mwai Kibaki a été réélu président du Kenya, le Mouvement d’opposition ODM (Orange Democratic Movementm – ODM) et son leader, Raila Odinga, ont rejeté les résultats et crié à la fraude électorale. Cette contestation a déclenché une crise politique et provoqué des explosions de violences dans de nombreuses régions […]

Read case study

Kenya, Vallée du Rift

Les élections de 2007 au Kenya se sont accompagnées de tensions qui ont dégénéré en violences suite à l’annonce des résultats. HD a réagi rapidement en détachant deux membres de son équipe à plein temps auprès du Groupe d’éminentes personnalités africaines de l’Union africaine dirigé par Kofi Annan, afin de mener en urgence des négociations de […]

Read case study

Liberia

HD a ainsi pu réagir rapidement pendant le déroulement du scrutin électoral et faire appel à ses contacts de haut niveau au sein du pays pour promouvoir le dialogue entre les groupes politiques à un moment qui s’est révélé crucial. Suite aux élections nationales, un consensus s’est dessiné au Libéria et au sein de la […]

Read case study

Népal

En 1996, le Parti communiste du Népal (maoïste), ou PCN-M, a déclenché une « guerre populaire » contre l’État népalais qui a coûté la vie à plus de 13 000 personnes. Le conflit a pris fin en novembre 2006 avec la signature d’un accord de paix global entre le gouvernement népalais et le PCN-M. Historique L’engagement de HD au […]

Read case study

Soudan

Historique Le conflit qui oppose le nord et le sud du Soudan a commencé avant même que le pays n’obtienne son indépendance de la Grande-Bretagne et de l’Égypte, en 1956. Le refus des populations du Nord, qui détenaient le pouvoir, d’instituer le système fédéral réclamé par les populations du Sud, a déclenché une guerre civile qui […]

Read case study

Timor Oriental

Historique La crise qui a éclaté en 2006 au Timor oriental a été déclenchée par un groupe de soldats provenant majoritairement des districts de l’ouest du pays, signataires d’une pétition accusant leurs supérieurs de l’est de discriminations au sein de l’armée nationale (la Falintil-Força da Defesa de Timor Lorosa’e ou F‑FDTL). Près de 600 de ces « pétitionnaires » […]

Read case study

Tunisie

Suite à des manifestations pacifiques qui se sont déroulées  fin 2010, le régime de Zine El-Abidine Ben Ali est tombé en janvier 2011. Depuis, la Tunisie est bien souvent considérée comme l’exemple le plus prometteur de transformation démocratique parmi les pays du « printemps arabe ». Le pays traverse toutefois une période de transition intense et mouvementée. Comme l’ont […]

Read case study

Syrie

Historique Depuis 2012, le conflit syrien a semé la mort et la destruction et entraîné le déplacement massif de populations. Ceux qui œuvrent pour trouver une solution négociée à cette guerre doivent s’adapter à des circonstances en perpétuelle évolution. À la fin de l’année 2016, la coopération étroite entre la Russie, l’Iran et la Turquie, ainsi que […]

Read case study

Médiation et appui au processus de paix en République centrafricaine

Contexte En 2012, la République centrafricaine fut secouée par la plus grave crise de son histoire récente, la dernière en date d’une longue série depuis l’indépendance du pays en 1960. Instrumentalisées par les groupes armés et les forces gouvernementales, les violences initialement politiques prirent rapidement une tournure confessionnelle, opposant chrétiens affiliés aux Anti-Balaka et musulmans […]

Read case study

Médiation et appui au processus de paix au Mali

Historique L’Accord dit d’Alger constitue une feuille de route solide pour rétablir la paix au Mali. Signé par trois parties – le Gouvernement malien, la Coordination des mouvements de l’Azawad (CMA) et l’Alliance de groupes armés maliens pro-gouvernementaux (Plateforme) – il englobe les questions de politique, de sécurité, de justice et de développement socio-économique. Le […]

Read case study

FDN des Philippines

Historique Le conflit entre le gouvernement philippin et le Parti communiste des Philippines a débuté en 1968. Depuis lors, il a causé d’immenses souffrances au sein de la population civile, causant plus de 40 000 morts. Suite à une interruption de trois ans, les pourparlers de paix officiels entre le gouvernement et le FDN, l’organe politique du PCP, ont […]

Read case study

Médiation agro-pastorale au Sahel

Dans la région du Sahel, aux frontières de la Mauritanie, du Mali, du Burkina Faso, du Niger et du Tchad, les communautés pastorales vivent de l’exploitation de leur bétail. Leur survie dépend de leur capacité à se déplacer […]

Read case study

Médiation et appui au processus de paix en Casamance – Sénégal

Contexte La Casamance est une région du Sénégal séparée du reste du pays par la Gambie. Cette séparation physique a fait naître un sentiment de marginalisation politique et économique qui a alimenté, dès les années 1980, une rébellion séparatiste menée par le Mouvement des forces démocratiques de la Casamance (MFDC). Le conflit a aujourd’hui perdu […]

Read case study

Somalie

En 2012, à la demande du gouvernement fédéral de transition (GFT), HD a rédigé une version préliminaire du premier programme de stabilisation destiné au centre-sud de la Somalie. Elle a également soutenu les processus électoraux du Somaliland et du Puntland. Entre 2015 et 2017,  HD a coopéré avec le Forum national du leadership (National Leadership Forum, […]

Read case study

Sahel – Perceptions des facteurs de radicalisation, de violence et d'(in)sécurité

En partant du constat que les réponses institutionnelles au radicalisme privilégient une approche exclusivement politique et militaire, HD et le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD) ont décidé en 2015 d’entreprendre une recherche pour recueillir le point de vue de 800 personnes dans huit pays de l’espace sahélien. Le but du projet est […]

Read case study

Civilian Protection

Civilians in conflict areas often receive scant protection and support. Despite increasing international attention paid to this issue, conflict continues to generate extreme civilian suffering including killings, rape, displacement and forced armed service. Civilians suffer human rights abuses at the hands of different armed actors, including governments and non-state actors and often there is little […]

Read case study

Inclusion dans les processus de paix

En 2000, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1325, la première d’une longue liste de résolutions de l’ONU visant à promouvoir la participation des femmes dans la résolution et la prévention des conflits, le maintien et la consolidation de la paix et la reconstruction post-conflit. Malgré une augmentation exponentielle du […]

Read case study

Forum d’Oslo

The Oslo Forum is the leading international network of conflict mediation practitioners. Co-hosted by the Norwegian Government and HD, the Oslo Forum convenes conflict mediators, peacemakers, high-level decision-makers and key peace process actors in a series of informal and discreet retreats. The Oslo Forum features an annual global event in Oslo as well as regional […]

Read case study
Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous garantir la meilleure expérience possible et améliorer les performances de notre site.
Pour plus d’informations, merci de consulter nos Mentions Légales.
Certains contenus ou fonctionnalités ne sont pas disponibles car ils sont incompatibles avec vos préférences de cookies!

Le service appelé « %SERVICE_NAME% » utilise en effet des cookies qui sont désactivés. Pour avoir accès à ce contenu, merci d’activer les cookies : Cliquez ici pour modifier vos préférences de cookies.

Where we work

The organisation is involved in more than 45 dialogue and mediation initiatives in over 40 countries, some public, others confidential.

Displaying 0 activity Displaying 0 activities

COVID-19 Global Response Initiative

The initiative outlines four main HD goals, pursued in collaboration with global health experts: Deliver life-saving information to hard-to-reach populations; Work with communities to monitor the outbreak, to strengthen the global response; Facilitate humanitarian access to these hard-to-reach populations; Promote humanitarian pauses in areas of active armed conflict, to give space for an effective response […]

Read case study

Aceh, Indonesia

Objectives HD ‘s objective in Aceh was contribute to the development of a sustainable solution to the conflict between the Government of the Republic of Indonesia and the Free Aceh Movement, through a mediated solution. Activities On 9 December 2002, HD facilitated the signing of a Cessation of Hostilities Agreement (COHA) between the two sides […]

Read case study

Burundi

Activities To this end, HD convened a seminar  from 2-4 February 2000 in Geneva, bringing together the armed opposition groups active in Burundi, the Government of Burundi and the international humanitarian community. the event was attended by field level commanders of the armed opposition groups active inside Burundi, the Government of Burundi (GoB) and the international humanitarian […]

Read case study

Dialogue between youth organisations and state institutions from the Sahel region

Background 50 million young people under the age of 30 live in the Sahel region today. They make up approximately 65% of the G5 Sahel countries’ (Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso, Chad and Mauritania) population. However, their future prospects are limited in view of the low levels of education owing to an educational system clogged by […]

Read case study

Geneva Initiative

Background On 12 October 2003, a group of leading Israelis and Palestinians completed a draft framework for a final-status agreement between the two parties to the Middle East conflict. This framework, known as the Geneva Initiative (GI), proposed a model for the settlement of critical issues such as security arrangements, Jerusalem, borders and refugees. The […]

Read case study

Indonesia – Building mediation capacity of interfaith institutions

The project initially focused on the city of Ambon in Maluku, where religion-related communal conflict cost the lives of more than 2’000 people between 1999 and 2002 and injured at least 4’000 others. Lingering suspicion and segregation between Muslims and Christians still poses a threat to security today. HD and THC seek to bring formal and informal […]

Read case study

Iraq

Background The Islamic State (IS) has been almost totally militarily defeated in Iraq. The political crisis in the country is interlinked with the security situation. Areas such as Anbar, the Baghdad Belts and Salahaddin, where the population is mostly Sunni, have now been liberated from IS but are at risk of a resurgence of violence […]

Read case study

Libya

Background On 15 February 2011, major demonstrations erupted throughout Libya seeking the removal of Muammar Al-Qaddafi. They began peacefully but on 17 February, forces loyal to Qaddafi fired on demonstrators, killing hundreds and provoking resignations from some officials in Qaddafi’s own cabinet, several prominent Libyan diplomats and members of the security forces in the eastern […]

Read case study

Mediation in the border regions of Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger

Background Since 2010, several armed groups have appeared along the porous border strip which separates Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso. Some of them claim close ties with either the armed groups which have signed the Mali Agreement or with Jihadist movements, while others claim to have links with some of the local communities. The fragility […]

Read case study

Mediating the return of state services to the Mopti and Ségou regions, Mali

Background While the 2015 Agreement for Peace and Reconciliation in Mali officially put an end to the north-south conflict, multiple conflicts have since erupted in the central part of the country. The worsening security situation in the Mopti and Ségou regions has resulted in the growing withdrawal of government administration from a large part of […]

Read case study

Moldova

Context Amidst regional geopolitical turmoil sparked by the collapse of the Soviet Union, the eastern region of Moldova, known as Transnistria, declared its de-facto separation from Moldova in September 1990. It has remained outside of the control of Moldova’s central government ever since. Escalation and fighting ensued in mid-1992 and stopped after Russia’s army, stationed […]

Read case study

Myanmar – Addressing the crisis in Rakhine State

Background HD’s involvement in the conflict in Rakhine State started in 2012, following the outbreak of communal violence. Since then, the organisation has been working on addressing the crisis in Rakhine State and the wider impact it has had on the region. Considering these two separate but connected dimensions to the crisis, HD has worked […]

Read case study

Nigeria

Drawing on its successful experience in supporting the Nakuru Peace process in the Rift Valley of Kenya in 2012-2013, HD began work in Nigeria’s Middle Belt in early 2013 in an attempt to address those endemic conflicts and facilitate reconciliation among the communities through inter-communal dialogue processes. HD’s initial engagement in Plateau State later extended […]

Read case study

Philippines, Mindanao

On 27 March 2014, the Philippine Government and the MILF signed the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB) the culmination of efforts and peace talks that started between the two parties in 1997. This peace agreement is based on a previous accord, the Framework Agreement on the Bangsmoro (FAB), signed by the two parties in […]

Read case study

Intercommunal mediation in the Diffa region – Niger

Context The conflict opposing BH to the States of Niger, Nigeria, Chad and Cameroun has led to the evacuation of Lake Chad’s islands and the fertile land around the Komadougou River in Niger, displacing some 250’000 people in the region of Diffa. As a result, a growing number of inhabitants are now located in a […]

Read case study

South China Sea

Background HD’s involvement in the South China Sea came about as a result of the claimants acknowledging the immediate need for a parallel framework to minimise recourse to armed violence at sea whilst discussions about resolving the dispute at official fora continued. In 2014, for instance, tensions between Vietnam and China soared due to an […]

Read case study

Supporting Myanmar’s Peace Process

Background Early groundwork on the peace process between the government of Myanmar and the country’s 21 EAOs began in 2011 as part of a broad programme of reforms towards a democratic transition presided over by the previous government of President Thein Sein. Since coming to power in 2015 following the election victory of her party, […]

Read case study

The Gambia

Background President Yahya Jammeh took over power in a military coup d’état which removed the then incumbent Sir Dawda Jawara; he then remained in office until January 2017. Things came to a head in 2016 after Jammeh reversed his initial decision to accept the outcome of the 1st December 2016 Presidential election which had been […]

Read case study

Ukraine

Background Since 2014, the armed conflict in Ukraine’s Donbas region has resulted in the deaths of approximately 10,000 people and has displaced hundreds of thousands more. In the summer of 2014, fighting intensified until a ceasefire agreement was reached under the auspices of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) in Minsk in […]

Read case study

Kenya

Background The Kenyan Presidential Election on 27 December 2007 and announcement of President Mwai Kibaki’s re-election resulted in contestation of the results and accusations of rigging by the opposition Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) and its leader, Hon. Raila Odinga. This sparked a political crisis and violence in many parts of the country. The unprecedented levels of […]

Read case study

Kenya Rift Valley

As a result of deep historical and political divides among the population, the area most affected by the violence which followed the elections was the Rift Valley. In 2011, HD was asked to contribute its experience and expertise to a peace initiative between the Elders of the two main groups in the area: the Agikuyu […]

Read case study

Nepal

The ‘people’s war’ was launched by the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) (CPN (M)) against the Nepalese state in 1996. It claimed the lives of over 13,000 people. It ended in November 2006 with the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement between the Government of Nepal and the CPN (M). Background HD’s involvement in Nepal […]

Read case study

Sudan

Background Conflict between the north and south of Sudan started before the country gained independence from Britain and Egypt in 1956. Those in the south wanted a federal system but this was not instituted by those in control in the north and a civil war started which was to last until 1972. An agreement made […]

Read case study

Timor Leste

Background The 2006 crisis in Timor-Leste was sparked by a group of petitioning soldiers (called the “petitioners”), predominantly from the country’s western districts, who charged their superiors from the east with discrimination in the national army (Falintil-Força da Defesa de Timor Lorosa’e or F-FDTL). The subsequent sacking of nearly 600 petitioners by the Government led […]

Read case study

Tunisia

Tunisia is considered by many to be the most promising example of democratic transformation among the so-called ‘Arab Spring’ countries. However, as the protests in early 2018 have shown, serious threats remain and the success of this process is by no means assured. Following peaceful protests in late 2010 and early 2011, the regime of […]

Read case study

Syria

Background Since 2012, the Syrian conflict has resulted in casualties, displacement and destruction, where those searching for a negotiated solution to end this complex conflict have had to continually adapt to the changing circumstances. Towards the end of 2016, there was a significant change in the conflict dynamics as a result of close co-operation between […]

Read case study

Mediation and support for the peace process in the Central African Republic

Context In 2012, the Central African Republic (CAR) was shaken by the worst crisis of its recent history, though one of many in a string of crises since its independence in 1960. The outbreak of violence, initially political in nature, was instrumentalised by armed groups and government forces, quickly taking a religious turn as Christians […]

Read case study

Mediation and support for the peace process in Mali

Background The Algiers Agreement constitutes a solid roadmap to re-establish peace in Mali. The Accord was signed by three parties – the Malian Government, the Coordination of Azawad Movements and the pro-government coalition of armed groups (Plateforme) – and encompasses political, security, justice and socio-economic development issues. However, the peace process still faces numerous challenges. […]

Read case study

Philippines NDF

Background The conflict between the Government of the Republic of the Philippines and the Communist Party of the Philippines began in 1968 and since then has caused immense suffering to the civilian population and claimed more than 40,000 lives. After a three year hiatus, formal peace talks involving the GRP and the NDFP, the political […]

Read case study

Agro-pastoral mediation in the Sahel region

Background In the Sahel region, in the border areas of Mauritania, Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger and Chad, pastoral communities live off their livestock. Their survival depends on their ability to move around, according to seasons or the availability of natural resources in order to feed their cattle. Today the nomadic way of life is being […]

Read case study

Mediation and support for the peace process in Casamance – Senegal

Context The Casamance region of Senegal is separated from the rest of the country by the Gambia, which contributes to a sentiment of political and economic marginalisation within the region’s population. Since the 1980s, this sentiment has fed into a separatist rebellion, led by the Movement of Democratic Forces of Casamance (MFDC). The conflict today […]

Read case study

Somalia

In 2012, at the request of the Transitional Federal Government (TFG), HD drafted the first Stabilization Programme document for south-central Somalia. The organisation also supported election processes in Somaliland and Puntland. More recently, between mid-2015 and early 2017, HD was engaged with the National Leadership Forum (NLF) which brought together the Federal Government of Somalia (FGS) […]

Read case study

Sahel – Perceptions of radicalization, violence and (in)security drivers

Given that institutional responses to radicalism have tended to be political or military only, in 2015 HD and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) decided to undertake an innovative research to  capture the views of 800 people from across 8 countries in the border regions of the Sahel region. The project seeks to inform non-coercive […]

Read case study
We use cookies to guarantee the best experience and improve the performance of our website.
For more information, please see our Legal Mentions.
Some contents or functionalities here are not available due to your cookie preferences!

This happens because the functionality/content marked as “%SERVICE_NAME%” uses cookies that you choosed to keep disabled. In order to view this content or use this functionality, please enable cookies: click here to open your cookie preferences.